Start a new topic
Answered

A guide for starting an app?

Is there any quick guide to start building an app?  I'm a novice programmer at best, but I'm messed around enough with some other coding and I'd like to at least get my feet wet and try something.

My idea is to get the current baseball score when my team is playing and display it.  I know that MLB provides json pages and I can parse the data out of there that I need.  I already do this in Tasker to push score data to my Android Wear watch, so I'm familiar enough (I think) with the json parsing part but there's a lot I'm just not sure of how to do.

Specifically:

I need to call the json page for the current date.  How do I get today's date in the LaMetric code area?    How do I call a website?

Next I'm assuming I'm going to dumb the json data from the site into a variable... I might be able to figure that out from looking at examples, then I'll need to parse out specific parts of the json data (again, I might be able to figure this out from examples) and put the data I need into another variable.

This leads to a second json call, and dumping that data into yet another variable.  I'll need to parse that data as well and pull out the pieces that I want.  I'll end up with four variables (Away team name, away team score, home team name, and home team score).  How do I display the contents of those variables as text?

I mean I know I gotta do this:

{
            "index": 0,
            "text": ??What do I put here??,
            "icon": "icon code here"
        },

But what I do put in the text area for it to display variables?

Finally, is there currently anyway to display this data ONLY if a specific variable contains a specific value?  What I mean is that I only want to display the data when the game is going.  I can pull that info from the json pages, but I want LaMetric to only display the data if the the variable "Status" = "In progress".  Can that be done?